Updated 2023 NFL Draft Order

The 2023 NFL Draft will take place in Kansas City on April 27-29. Between now and the Super Bowl in February, the 2023 NFL Draft order will fluctuate after every game of the 2022 NFL season. So be sure to check back weekly as the current draft order is continually updated throughout the regular season as the NFL standings change.

And don’t forget to check out the free Pro Football Network Mock Draft Simulator to take control of your favorite team and draft the top draft prospects on the board.

Current 2023 NFL Draft Order

A number of trades have already impacted the first round of the 2023 NFL Draft. The Eagles, Texans, Lions, and Seahawks all own multiple first-round picks in 2023 thanks to offseason trades.

The Dolphins also would have had two first-round picks. But the NFL stripped Miami of their own first-round pick for tampering with Tom Brady and Sean Payton. The Dolphins also lost a 2024 third-round pick as part of the tampering penalty.

Because of Miami’s forfeited pick, the first round of the 2023 NFL Draft will only have 31 selections.

Picks one through 18 are slotted based on regular season finish. Picks 19 through 31 are determined based on NFL playoff results. If the Dolphins do not make the playoffs, then picks one through 17 will be slotted on regular season finish, and picks 18 through 32 will be determined based on playoff results. More on how the draft order is determined is below the first-round draft order.

Round 1 | Picks 1-18

1. Houston Texans
2. Carolina Panthers
3. Las Vegas Raiders
4. Philadelphia Eagles (from New Orleans)
5. Pittsburgh Steelers
6. New England Patriots
7. Detroit Lions
8. Washington Commanders
9. Seattle Seahawks (from Denver)
10. Atlanta Falcons
11. Houston Texans (from Cleveland)
12. Seattle Seahawks
13. Baltimore Ravens
14. Los Angeles Chargers
15. Arizona Cardinals
16. Detroit Lions (from LA Rams)
17. New York Jets
18. Chicago Bears

Round 1 | Picks 19-31

19. Miami Dolphins (from San Francisco)
20. Tampa Bay Buccaneers
21. Indianapolis Colts
22. Cincinnati Bengals
23. Tennessee Titans
24. New York Giants
25. Jacksonville Jaguars
26. Buffalo Bills
27. Dallas Cowboys
28. Green Bay Packers
29. Kansas City Chiefs
30. Minnesota Vikings
31. Philadelphia Eagles

How Is the NFL Draft Order Determined?

Like most draft orders in professional sports, there is a specific way to determine the order of the NFL draft. It is the reverse order of each team’s finish in the most recent season. Playoff teams are then assigned their selections based on when they were eliminated and their overall season record. The NFL draft tiebreaker procedures comes into play when determining the final order, as teams that do not make the playoffs earn selections between picks 1-18. Playoff teams then filter in from picks 19-32.

  • The six teams eliminated on Wild Card Weekend receive picks 19-24 based on regular-season record.
  • The four teams eliminated in the Divisional Round receive picks 25-28 based on regular-season record.
  • The two teams eliminated in the Conference Championships receive picks 29 and 30 based on regular-season record.
  • The team that loses the Super Bowl gets pick 31.
  • The Super Bowl champion gets pick 32.

There are also compensatory selections awarded based on the NFL’s proprietary formula. Resolution JC-2A has kicked into effect as well, awarding teams third-round picks if they develop minority head coach or general manager candidates hired elsewhere.

Matt Infante is Pro Football Network’s Chief Operating Officer. You can follow him on Twitter: @MattyInfante.

Source link

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Scroll to top